The American-Uzbekistan Chamber of Commerce (AUCC) seeks to promote trade and investment ties, cultural exchanges and bonds of friendship between the United States of America and the Republic of Uzbekistan. In performing these functions, the AUCC places primary emphasis on serving the needs and interests of its members.

Interview with AUCC Chairperson Carolyn Lamm Before 2012 Uzbekistan-US Annual Business Forum

Get Flash to see this player.

» AUCC events

» Contact us


Uzbekistan ratifies protocol on use of the CIS free trade zone treaty

28 December 2013

President of Uzbekistan Islam Karimov signed a law "On ratification of protocol on use of the agreement on free trade zone from 18 October 2011 between its member states and Uzbekistan (Minsk, 31 May 2013)" on 27 December 2013.

Legislative Chamber of Oliy Majlis of Uzbekistan passed the law on 29 November 2013 and Senate approved it on 13 December 2013.

The protocol was signed on 31 May 2013 in Minsk, Belarus. The document was signed at the session of the heads of the government of the CIS.

The protocol sets legal mechanisms of interaction of Uzbekistan and member states of the agreement. It sets mechanisms of function of the free trade zone with participation of Uzbekistan. The text of the protocol in Russian language published here.

The agreement on free trade zone in the CIS was signed in October 2011 and Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia, Kyrgyz Republic, Moldova, Tajikistan and Ukraine are signees of the document. Uzbekistan became the ninth member of the treaty.

At the time, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan expressed wish to consider to accession to the agreement. All countries, except Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, ratified the agreement. It is expected that they will ratify the document soon.

The agreement will create necessary conditions for full and effective operation of free trade zone in the CIS and create favourable conditions for further integration base on norms of the World Trade Organization.