The American-Uzbekistan Chamber of Commerce (AUCC) seeks to promote trade and investment ties, cultural exchanges and bonds of friendship between the United States of America and the Republic of Uzbekistan. In performing these functions, the AUCC places primary emphasis on serving the needs and interests of its members.

Interview with AUCC Chairperson Carolyn Lamm Before 2012 Uzbekistan-US Annual Business Forum

Get Flash to see this player.

» AUCC events

» Contact us



13 July 2018

[Note: This information was kindly provided by the Uzbek Embassy in Washington DC]


The Republic of Uzbekistan introduced E-visa system for 51 countries and a  5-day transit visa-free procedure for 101 countries.

President of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev signed a Decree on Further Measures to Optimize the Procedure of Entry of Foreign Citizens into Uzbekistan on July 4th, 2018 by launching E-visas system for 51 countries, a transit visa-freeprocedure for 101 countriesand a visa-free regime for foreign citizens under 16.

E-visa system. Starting from July 15th, 2018 Uzbekistan introduces E-visa system on «e-visa.gov.uz» for citizens of 51 countries, including the United States of America and Canada. An electronic visa is issued for a period of 30 days and valid for 90 days from the date of its issuance. To obtain E-visa, applicant should apply at least three business days before the planned date of arrival to Uzbekistan. E-visa will be issued within two business days excluding the day the application was filed. The issued E-visa is sent to the e-mail of applicant. The amount of the consular fee for registration and issuance of an electronic visa is 20 USD. Payment for E-visa can be done online through international payment systems, and the applicant does not necessarily to be the owner of a bank card.

Free-visa procedure for transit passengers. From July 15th, 2018 a 5-day transit visa-free procedure will take effect for the citizens of 101 countries, including the United States of America and Canada at the International Airports of Uzbekistan. Passengers need to provide an air-ticket to the third country and the carrier should inform the border authorities of Uzbekistan on passengers who are eligible for transit visa-free.  

Visa-free regime for foreign citizens under 16. Foreign citizens, who are under 16 are eligible for a visa - free regime. They should provide an international passport or a biometric travel document and have to be accompanied by their legal guardians. They may enter and stay in Uzbekistan for the validity period of the entry visa of the accompanying person, but no longer than 90 days from the date of entry into Uzbekistan. In case if foreign citizen reaches the age of 16 during their stay in Uzbekistan, an exit visa is issued by the migration and citizenship registration offices.

Visa for citizens of other countries. Citizens of other countries that are not included in the lists of E-visas system and a transit visa - free procedure can enter Uzbekistan or travel through its territory for transit purpose on the basis of entrance visas only. They can obtain visas at the diplomatic representations and consular missions of the Republic of Uzbekistan abroad on the basis of the visa support (confirmation of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan).

Visa support is issued on the basis of application of the inviting organizations, companies and persons who are permanently or temporarily residing in Uzbekistan and submitted to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

In addition, by October of current year, the Decree of the President instructed to prepare proposals to launch additional visa regimes for various categories of foreign citizens visiting Uzbekistan:

Silkroad - for tourists traveling the Silk Road countries with the possible recognizing entry visa of other countries;

Vatandosh - a 5-year visa for natives of Uzbekistan and members of their families; 

Golden visa - 10-year visa for large foreign investors.

By March of 2019, the relevant authorities of Uzbekistan are to prepare proposals to expand the list of countries for which the transit visa-free policy is applied.  Please click here for a list of countries eligible for e-visa.